Welcome to TheGuitarLesson.com - Learn to play guitar the fun and easy way, through playing songs! Sign up for free >> x

Archive for category: Guitar Lesson Review

February 16, 2017
16 Feb 2017

Guitar Tricks vs. Jamplay

There are 2 really big online video guitar lesson websites at present: Jamplay.com and GuitarTricks.com

Deciding on which one to join can be a bit tricky, since they are both very similar in so many respects. This is where a side-by-side comparison between GuitarTricks and Jamplay will come in handy, but first, lets discuss the history of these sites to get a better understanding of what they can do for you.

Guitartricks vs Jamplay? Which is better?

Disclosure: The reviews written on this site are carried out by professionals, who receive compensation from the companies whose products get reviewed. We test each product thoroughly and recommend only what we believe to be the very best. We are independently owned and the opinions expressed here are our own.

It's important to know that GuitarTricks is the older site, established in 1998. As such, they practically invented online guitar lessons. JamPlay is the follower, who is set out to overtake the pioneer, as can be seen from the video editing quality, and the rate at which new lessons are added onto JamPlay.

Have a look at this handy Jamplay vs Guitar Tricks comparison table below, to find the nitty-gritty differences between the 2 sites:

Read more

January 1, 2017
01 Jan 2017

Beginner Guitar Books Reviewed for 2017

Learning to play the guitar from beginner guitar books is still huge, despite the availability of the more modern form of learning guitar, online video tutorials.

My vote for best cover!

My vote for best cover!

The "learn guitar books" (both acoustic and electric) are here to stay, since thousands of guitar lesson books are being sold everyday, so I thought I would buy, read and compare a couple of these books and see how they perform.

The books I ordered were not at random, but chosen from the top seller lists of online book stores, so these should be the best ones. Or the ones with the best marketing 😀

I am a guitar teacher of 15 years and a technical junkie, so I prefer to steer people towards online video lessons. I believe that with the multimedia technologies of the 21st century, beginner video lessons are the most efficient way of learning guitar from home, and are most advantageous from a pricing point of view as well. I'll add some recommendations for video lessons after the book reviews, in case you want to see that side of learning guitar as well.

Either way, here are my findings after reading through the most popular guitar learning books:

Read more

December 1, 2016
01 Dec 2016

Guitar Center Coupon Code – Save $25

Guitar Center is one of the biggest guitar stores on the Internet, and better yet, they also have real stores in 42 US states, where you can try before you buy.

They also have a lowest price guarantee, where they guarantee that they will beat any price on guitar products. But wait, it gets better! Lowest Price and Free Shipping at GuitarCenter.com

Guitar Center also has discount codes, which means that when you ordering something online, you just enter the Guitar Center coupon code on the payment page, and you automatically get an extra discount. Sweet!

Here is a nice little code for you, which will deduct $25 on any purchase over $200. That, combined with their lowest price guarantee, should really put a smile on any guitarists' face 🙂

Read more

November 22, 2016
22 Nov 2016

Save $ Learning Guitar

Learning to play the guitar can get a bit expensive in the long run. It's not that any one aspect is overly expensive (except you Gibson :-)), but the fact that it takes quite a while, and all the little things can really start adding up if you aren't mindful of your spendings.

Save $$ on Guitar Stuff

Save $$ on Guitar Stuff

Because of this, I've collected a couple of discount and coupon codes for guitar students, which you'll be able to use to save a few $ here and there, and in the long run, it might even add up to major savings. And don't underestimate this! Learning guitar takes years, and you'll be saving hundreds of $ if you spend wisely.

I'll give you links to coupons and discount offers to redeem over at Jamplay, GuitarTricks, Guitar Center, Guitar Pro and of course TheGuitarLesson.com below.

Read more

November 10, 2016
10 Nov 2016

Guitar Practice Generator at MusicDiscipline.com

If you're at all serious about learning to play the guitar, you'll already know the secret to advancing your skills.

practice time

Practice time

Practice, practice, practice.

Saying it is actually easier said than done. You need to, first of all, make the time, and you also need to come up with a suitable practice routine, that will develop your guitar skills.

As a rule of thumb, if you have X amount of time to practice, it's a good idea to split up your practice session like this:

  • 1/3 devoted to technical aspects of playing guitar and scales. This gets you practicing and refining things you have already learned.
  • 1/3 devoted to using your knowledge to play and make music, along with a backing track for example. This is the fun part 🙂
  • 1/3 devoted to learning new stuff. This is where you advance as a guitarist/musician.

Each part of this general practice routine is important, but it is still just that, pretty general.

Read more

October 20, 2016
20 Oct 2016

Online Guitar Lesson Reviews

An online guitar lessons review website called LearnMusicEasy.com has given TheGuitarLesson.com a very positive review, so I would like to say thank you to the editors. The test they conducted of the site is very detailed, and touches on basically every subject that you'll experience as a customer. It's worth a read, even if you are a premium member already, you might find out things about our site that you didn't know before. The result of their review was that we offer one of the best guitar courses for beginners, which is in fact the main aim of our lessons.

The website also has other guitar lesson review articles as well, which you might find interesting if you are at a stage where you can play all of our songs already.

September 29, 2016
29 Sep 2016

Steve Krenz – Learn and Master Guitar

Steve Krenz of the Learn and Master Guitar DVD course is professional guitarist and instructor with a wealth of knowledge about playing, and teaching the guitar. His courses Learn and Master Guitar, and the new Learn and Master Spotlight Series: Blues Guitar convey nothing but pure professionalism, and a love for teaching.

Steve Krenz

Steve Krenz at his best

Disclosure: The reviews written on this site are carried it by professionals, who receive compensation from the companies whose products get reviewed. We test each product thoroughly and recommend only what we believe to be the very best. We are independently owned and the opinions expressed here are our own.

The best part of Steve Krenz's teaching style is that he doesn't take things for granted, and explains every concept in a detailed, step-by-step understandable manner, which is one of the most important elements of being a good guitar teacher. Many teacher fail to recognize the fact that things that may seem evident to them, will not be understandable to the student.

This is especially important with a DVD guitar course, where the student can't ask questions freely. And this is why Steve's guitar course is invaluable to you if you want to teach yourself guitar.

Read more

September 6, 2016
06 Sep 2016

25 Best Guitar Websites in 2016

best guitar websites

I would estimate that there are literally hundreds of thousands of guitar related websites on the Internet, with a few hundred popping up every month. While many of these sites will have something valuable to add, I tried to collect the best guitar websites, the ones that I think will be most useful to my guitar students.

Now this is nowhere a definitive list or guitar directory, but it's a good start. If you find a site that you think is innovative and worthy of being called one of the best guitar related sites on the net, than please leave a comment and if I agree, I'll add it to this list. Oh, and don't just spam comment links. If you don't explain why you think your proposed guitar site is awesome, I'll just delete your comment.

Instead of just presenting an insanely long list, I've separated the sites into categories to make everything easier to digest and find. Click on a category and you'll magically be taken to that part of the page.
Read more

July 28, 2016
28 Jul 2016

Geoff Stockton’s The BIG Serious Guitar Book

I was contacted by the author of The Big Serious Guitar Book, Geoff Stockton, asking if I would like to receive a copy and write a review, and since I'm always on the lookout for new guitar material, I said sure.

The big serious guitar book

This self published book sells for around $40 on Lulu. When I first saw the rather steep price, I got curious. Most guitar books sell for $5 to $20. What could this have that would warrant the price?

The first thing I noticed was that The Big Serious Guitar Book is just as it's name says. BIG 🙂 In fact, it's over 500 pages big. Looking through my library of guitar books, I could not find any other book nearly as long.

Secondly, having a quick peek at the contents, it has a wealth of information that you won't really find in one place anywhere else. In essence, this book could easily replace several other books based on the amount of content presented.

So my first impression was basically positive, now let's have a look inside.

The Table of Contents

I don't know about you, but the first thing I like to look at when I'm looking to buy a book is the table of contents. You can pretty much instantly tell whether it's right for you or not.

Here is the index of The Big Serious Guitar Book, bare with me:

Read more

July 25, 2016
25 Jul 2016

Band Website Template Functions

Rather than building a web page for your band from scratch, starting at hundreds, or even thousands of dollars for the layout plus computer programming, perhaps you should decide on a set to go solution.

There are several band web themes available online, some much better than others of course, however they could save you lots of money and complications, since many vital features will be inside the site theme. On top of that, most of these website templates run on proven CMSs, for instance WordPress, which makes them simple to operate and also dependable.

You'll need to be careful to select a theme that will satisfy all of your increasing needs. One of the best WordPress band website themes is MyBandTheme.

Band Sites with Classy Design

Band Sites with Classy Design!

Read more

[close]